Distinctive Areas and Landscapes Program

The Distinctive Areas and Landscapes Program is an initiative of the Victorian Government to ensure the protection of the significant economic, environmental, cultural and community values found in the peri‐urban areas surrounding Melbourne, Geelong and other regional cities are maintained for future generations.

In 2018 Macedon Ranges region was declared as the first distinctive area and landscape. The Victorian Government intends to declare three new coastal areas – Bass Coast, Bellarine Peninsula, and Surf Coast – to protect these areas from urban encroachment, increased visitation, and the impacts of climate change.

In July, The National Trust, in collaboration with our Geelong & Region and Bass Coast Branches have made submissions regarding the Bellarine Peninsula and Bass Coast to ensure that the provisions within these declarations sufficiently protect the significant cultural and community values of these coastal areas.

Read our submission for the Bellarine Peninsula here.
Read our submission for the Bass Coast here.


+ There are no comments

Add yours