WINNERS: 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards

Feature image Broadmeadows Town Hall by John Gollings.

Heritage was the real winner at the Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards. We congratulate this year’s award recipients, and their work to produce excellent heritage conservation and adaptive re-use outcomes.

Kerstin Thompson Architects’ redevelopment of the Broadmeadows Town Hall has been awarded the top honour, receiving the Victorian Architecture Medal, the John George Knight Award for Heritage Architecture, and a Commendation for Public Architecture.

The Bates Smart Award for Architecture in Media, National Award, went to the International Indigenous Design Charter by Jefa Greenaway, Russell Kennedy, Meghan Kelly and Brian Martin. The Victorian Award went to Fiona Austin, Simon Reeves, Alison Alexander, and Melbourne Books, for their excellent book, Beaumaris Modern. Citizens for Melbourne received an Advocacy Award for their Our City Our Square campaign, which took place alongside the National Trust’s successful campaign to include Federation Square in the Victorian Heritage Register and protect it from inappropriate development.

Other notable winners include:

Awards — Conservation

State Library Victoria Redevelopment – Architectus and Schmidt Hammer Lassen

Trades Hall, Victoria – Lovell Chen

Awards — Creative Adaptation

Regent Theatre, Melbourne – Lovell Chen

Abbotsford Convent Magdalen Laundry – Williams Boag Architects

Sustainable Architecture Award

University of Melbourne Old Quad – Lovell Chen

We’d also like to recognise the behind the scenes work of Heritage Victoria and local council permit and planning officers involved in these projects for facilitating such wonderful heritage outcomes.

For a full list of awards and commendations, see here.

+ There are no comments

Add yours